Pilgrimage of the Heart

Love in Action and the Politics of Peace

In 2017, to further inspire us in our active peacemaking efforts, the Pilgrimage for Peace was pleased to host Reverend John Dear, an internationally known voice for peace, nonviolence, and social justice.

Reverend John Dear is a prolific author and dedicated peacemaker. For over 35 years, this Catholic priest has traveled the world teaching, organizing and practicing nonviolence, in the tradition of Gandhi, Dr. King, and Jesus of Nazareth in pursuit of a more harmonious and just world. As the very “embodiment of a peacemaker,” he was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Archbishop Desmond Tutu. He also helped draft Pope Francis’ January 1, 2017 World Day of Peace message, which was the first statement on nonviolence in the history of the Catholic Church. A man of conviction who has been willing to pay the price for putting his faith into action, Fr. Dear’s words inspired us to heed the call to change the world one heart at a time.