Pilgrimage of the Heart

Love in Action and the Politics of Peace

All are invited to mourn the violence in our community, nation, and world and to walk together as active peacemakers during this fourth annual Pilgrimage for Peace. A coalition of interfaith and community activist groups will gather to recall those who were murdered or who suffered other violence during the year and to offer prayers of peace and remembrance. And this year, to further inspire us in our active peacemaking efforts, the Pilgrimage for Peace is pleased to host Reverend John Dear, an internationally known voice for peace, nonviolence, and social justice.

Reverend John Dear is a prolific author and dedicated peacemaker. For over 35 years, this Catholic priest has traveled the world teaching, organizing and practicing nonviolence, in the tradition of Gandhi, Dr. King, and Jesus of Nazareth in pursuit of a more harmonious and just world. As the very “embodiment of a peacemaker,” he was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Archbishop Desmond Tutu. He also helped draft Pope Francis’ January 1, 2017 World Day of Peace message, which was the first statement on nonviolence in the history of the Catholic Church. A man of conviction who’s been willing to pay the price for putting his faith into action, Fr. Dear’s words should inspire us to heed the call to change the world one heart at a time.

The 2017 Pilgrimage for Peace will begin at 2:00 pm Sunday April 23rd at Heifer International, 1 World Avenue in Little Rock, and end at the Beacon of Peace and Hope located at 110 Riverfront Drive in North Little Rock. A Service for Remembrance will be held at the Beacon site at 3:00 pm, consisting of ecumenical prayers, music, brief reflections from scripture and literature, and a reading of the names of homicide victims in Pulaski County from the past year. On this occasion, we come together in peace for the reconciliation of our city, nation and world.

"to mourn the violence committed in our community and the world, and to walk together as active peacemakers."