Pilgrimage for Peace 2019

Pilgrimage for Peace logo, two doves

Pilgrimage for Peace, 2019, organized by a coalition of ecumenical faith and community organizations, will be held on Sunday, April 28th at 2:00 P.M. Walkers will gather in the circle outside Heifer International Village, 1 World Avenue, Little Rock and pass the Clinton Presidential Library and the River Market, cross the Junction Bridge to the Beacon of Peace and Hope at 120 Riverfront Drive, N.L.R. There, walkers and others will gather for:

A Remembrance Service at 3:00 P.M. to “mourn the violence committed in our community, nation and world, and to walk together as active peacemakers.” The ecumenical service will be led by young people offering prayers, reflections from literature and scriptures, songs and the reading of names of homicide victims in Pulaski County in the past year. All ages are welcome.

Community

We are a coalition of ecumenical faith and community organizations. Here are our sponsors and supporters for 2019:

 Arkansas Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty  •  Arkansas Coalition for Peace and Justice (ACPJ)  Arkansas Culture and Dialog Institute  •  Arkansas Interfaith Power and Light     •  Arkansas Local Food Network •  Arkansas Network for Justice •  Arkansas Women’s Action for New Directions (WAND) •  The Bernice Garden  •  Christ Episcopal Church  •  Clinton School of Public Service Center on Community Philanthropy  • Community of Christ, NLR  •  Compassion Works for All  •   Congregation B’nai Israel  •  Daughters of Abraham Interfaith Book Group •  DecARcerate • Ecumenical Buddhist Society   •   Episcopal Diocese of ArkansasEpiscopal Peace Fellowship of Arkansas  •  ESSE Purse Museum & Store  •  First United Methodist Church  •  The Interfaith Center ITSSM Interfaith Center •  Just Communities of Arkansas (JCA)  •  Little Rock Organizing Committee  •  The Madina Institute and Mosque •  Magdalene Coming Home  •  Moms Demand Action, Arkansas Chapter  •  Natural State Horticare  •  Pace e Bene  •  Pax Christi •  Quapaw Quarter United Methodist Church  •  The Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)  •  San Damiano Ecumenical Catholic Church •  Skip and Billie Rutherford  •  St. Mark’s Episcopal Church •  St. Michael’s Episcopal Church •  St. Peter’s Episcopal Church, Conway  •  Second Presbyterian Church  •  Spiritual Assembly of Baha’i, Little Rock •  Spiritual Assembly of the Baha’i, North Little Rock  •  Unitarian Universalist Church of Little Rock

If your organization would like to become a sponsor, please contact us here.

Program for Peace 2019

Coming soon!

Rev. John Dear

 An Evening with John Dear

Wednesday, May 16th, 2018
7:00 p.m.
St. Michael’s Episcopal Church
12415 Cantrell Road, Little Rock, AR 72223

 

Cover of John Dear's book: "They Will Inherit the Earth."JOHN DEAR WILL BE SPEAKING ON HIS NEW BOOK:
They Will Inherit the Earth: Peace & Nonviolence in a Time of Climate Change

Join us for an evening of discussion, reflection and book-signing with long-time activist, Jesuit priest, author and Nobel peace prize nominee John Dear. His new book is a landmark work which connects the way of active non-violence to our stewardship of Creation. He will show how our global epidemic of violence and war can only lead to catastrophic climate change, and he will lead us in building up the global grassroots movement of nonviolence in order to protect creation. He cites Jesus’ third beatitude as the basis for his meditation, “Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.” Rev. Dear will invite us to deepen our nonviolence and take new steps into active solidarity with Mother Earth and suffering humanity, doing what we can to welcome a new culture of peace and nonviolence.

Reverend John Dear is a prolific author and dedicated peacemaker. For over 35 years, this Catholic priest has traveled the world teaching, organizing and practicing nonviolence, in the tradition of Gandhi, Dr. King, and Jesus of Nazareth in pursuit of a more harmonious and just world. As the very “embodiment of a peacemaker,” he was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Archbishop Desmond Tutu. He also helped draft Pope Francis’ January 1, 2017 World Day of Peace message, which was the first statement on nonviolence in the history of the Catholic Church. A man of conviction who has been willing to pay the price for putting his faith into action, Fr. Dear’s words inspired us to heed the call to change the world one heart at a time.