Rev. John Dear

 An Evening with John Dear

Wednesday, May 16th, 2018
7:00 p.m.
St. Michael’s Episcopal Church
12415 Cantrell Road, Little Rock, AR 72223

 

Cover of John Dear's book: "They Will Inherit the Earth."JOHN DEAR WILL BE SPEAKING ON HIS NEW BOOK:
They Will Inherit the Earth: Peace & Nonviolence in a Time of Climate Change

Join us for an evening of discussion, reflection and book-signing with long-time activist, Jesuit priest, author and Nobel peace prize nominee John Dear. His new book is a landmark work which connects the way of active non-violence to our stewardship of Creation. He will show how our global epidemic of violence and war can only lead to catastrophic climate change, and he will lead us in building up the global grassroots movement of nonviolence in order to protect creation. He cites Jesus’ third beatitude as the basis for his meditation, “Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.” Rev. Dear will invite us to deepen our nonviolence and take new steps into active solidarity with Mother Earth and suffering humanity, doing what we can to welcome a new culture of peace and nonviolence.

Reverend John Dear is a prolific author and dedicated peacemaker. For over 35 years, this Catholic priest has traveled the world teaching, organizing and practicing nonviolence, in the tradition of Gandhi, Dr. King, and Jesus of Nazareth in pursuit of a more harmonious and just world. As the very “embodiment of a peacemaker,” he was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by Archbishop Desmond Tutu. He also helped draft Pope Francis’ January 1, 2017 World Day of Peace message, which was the first statement on nonviolence in the history of the Catholic Church. A man of conviction who has been willing to pay the price for putting his faith into action, Fr. Dear’s words inspired us to heed the call to change the world one heart at a time.